9 replies to this topic

#1 HollyS

HollyS

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 15 July 2014 - 04:02 PM

I am a complete novice with social media I don't do facebook and don't really understand twitter but it must be useful for something so I am trying to jump in!  Can anyone recommend things they follow and even tell me how to do this as I don't know.  For example one of the posts mentioned following the SHP confernece on twitter - how do you do this?  Thanks for helping with my ignorance!

HollyS

#2 Andrew Field

Andrew Field

Andrew

• Admin
  • 6,969 posts

Posted 16 July 2014 - 10:51 PM

Hi - if you create an account you then need to start following a few people.  Major events will have a hashtag - this is where a term is used to 'tag' tweets to a specific event.  You can search Twitter for specific hashtags and then you can start following people that you'd like to.  You are in complete control so I'd suggest following about 20 - 30 people to start with and then you'll pick up their tweets and go from there.

SHP had a hashtag of #shp2014 and you can find that here: https://twitter.com/hashtag/shp2014

Give it a try and do post again with any further questions.

Generate your own versions of my games, quizzes and eLearning activities: ContentGenerator.net

#3 Dan Moorhouse

Dan Moorhouse

Six Star General

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,548 posts

Posted 17 July 2014 - 03:52 PM

Russell has a really useful list of Historians and History Teachers on his website. It's based on people who use the #historyteacher hashtag. 

http://www.activehis...oryteacherlist/

#4 HollyS

HollyS

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 17 July 2014 - 06:18 PM

That's great thanks - it is sonewhere to start at least

HollyS

#5 Russel Tarr

Russel Tarr

Russel Tarr

• Admin
  • 1,376 posts

Posted 19 July 2014 - 11:12 AM

I produced a 'getting started on Twitter' guide for history teachers which you can access here.