• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 TommyP

TommyP

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 18 April 2007 - 08:17 AM

I'm a PGCE student taking over a Yr 7 class on Friday. I planned the lesson Medieval Medicine according to the workscheme but the teacher of the class says it is too flat and I need something more dynamic for my first lesson with them. It was involving a poster so I can see her point! Ideas for dynamic, teacher led activities would be gratefully received as I am mentally exhausted and really struggling!

#2 Ed Waller

Ed Waller

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,507 posts

Posted 18 April 2007 - 08:29 AM

Probably a most obvious choice but...

Urine chart... explanation of four humours... examination of a 'sample' - get flask from science, nice and clear glass (best to give a good wash before use), add lucozade sport (lemon)... get students to discuss which part of the chart it looks most like... To confirm taste a little on the end of your finger.

Guaranteed to get an "eeeeuuughhhhh".

Leads into discussion of knowledge of the time and role of church, quacks and wise women.

That would make a quick plenary poster (as advert for an apothecary) less than flat: services offered, who are the competition. You could even tick a work-related learning box if you needed to.
A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five. - Groucho Marx

#3 Sally Thorne

Sally Thorne

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts

Posted 18 April 2007 - 08:30 AM

I'm a PGCE student taking over a Yr 7 class on Friday. I planned the lesson Medieval Medicine according to the workscheme but the teacher of the class says it is too flat and I need something more dynamic for my first lesson with them. It was involving a poster so I can see her point! Ideas for dynamic, teacher led activities would be gratefully received as I am mentally exhausted and really struggling!